Conference Photos    |    Membership Directory    |    Contact Us    |    Site Map   |    Home

New Mexico Counties Mission

The New Mexico Counties mission is to strengthen New Mexico counties’ ability to govern their own affairs and to improve the well-being and quality of life of their constituents.

New Mexico Counties Bylaws

The New Mexico Counties Bylaws outline the structure and specify the duties and responsibilities of the membership, Board of Directors, Officers, Executive Committee, Executive Director, Affiliates, and Advisory council.  In addition, the bylaws provide information on conferences and meetings. For a copy of the New Mexico Counties Bylaws click on:  New Mexico Counties Bylaws 2017.

New Mexico Counties Code of Conduct Policy

On August 14, 2009, the New Mexico Counties Board of Directors adopted  a Code of Conduct Policy. In order to promote trust, confidence, and integrity in the organization, the board members are expected to maintain the highest standards of professional conduct and ethical behavior. Training is done approximately every two years when new board members’ terms begin. For a copy of the New Mexico Counties Code of Conduct Policy, click on: New Mexico Counties Code of Conduct Policy.

About New Mexico Counties

New Mexico Counties is a non-profit, nonpartisan professional association of county officials and employees serving New Mexico’s thirty-three counties.

The New Mexico counties began meeting on an annual basis in 1936 to address shared  concerns and collaborate. The result of their foresight was the creation of the New Mexico Association of Counties (doing business as New Mexico Counties), which incorporated as a 501(C)6 nonprofit in 1968 and has served as a statewide voice for all counties in New Mexico ever since. Click here for a copy of our Brochure.

Soon after incorporation, New Mexico Counties expanded its membership to include Business Partners as sustaining members, offering opportunities for vendors and service providers to network and share resources with our members.

All State of New Mexico counties are eligible for membership in New Mexico Counties with the payment of annual dues. Membership entitles all elected county officials and career employees to the services provided by New Mexico Counties as well as participation in our semi-annual conferences and specialty workshops. New Mexico Counties  supports our 21 representative areas of county government through our affiliate committees; offering resources that assist to strengthing their roles with the county. Membership also allows counties to become members in any or all of the New Mexico Counties three insurance pools.

The Workers’ Compensation Pool was formed in 1986 and began operations July 1, 1987 with 22 original member counties. The Multi-Line Pool, which provides comprehensive coverage for property, crime, and liability (general liability, public officials errors and omissions, employee benefits, and automobile), began operations on January 1, 1989.  On August 1, 1995, the Law Enforcement Pool was formed to provide coverage to counties for law enforcement activities.

“Let’s work to keep our homegrown talent in New Mexico by placing vocational programs in high schools to train potential workers for jobs, from plumbers to electricians to executive secretaries to website designers, and support legislation allowing school districts to use mill levies to fund these programs. Open dialog leads to better understanding of our individual counties’ needs and helps promote a better New Mexico. I look forward to working with all 33 counties to better our communities!” ~New Mexico Counties President Rebecca Long, Lea County Commissioner

© 2016 New Mexico Association of Counties ~ 444 Galisteo St, Santa Fe, NM 87501 ~ Phone: 505-983-2101 ~ Toll Free: 877-983-2101
Feedback or problems with this site? please email
Back to top