Conference Photos    |    Membership Directory    |    Contact Us    |    Site Map   |    Home

Self-Insurance Pooling

NMAC administers three self-insurance pools that provide coverage for member counties. NMAC and New Mexico counties collaborated and founded the Workers’ Compensation Pool in 1987 and the Multi-Line Pool in 1989. The pools were formed to provide affordable coverage for counties when it was difficult and sometimes impossible for counties to obtain commercial insurance. The Law Enforcement Pool was formed in 1995 to provide liability coverage for sheriff departments and detention centers when State Risk Management decided to no longer provide coverage.

Vision Statement
Our Vision is to maintain the distinction and reputation of being the preferred insurance and risk management services provider for New Mexico Counties.

Mission Statement
The NMAC insurance Pool deliver superior, comprehensive and sustainable insurance and risk managemnt services to New Mexico counties by inspiring a culture focused on leadership, innovation and integrity to save counties money and keep their citizens and employees safe.

Workers’ Compensation Pool
The Workers’ Compensation Pool provides comprehensive medical and lost-time coverage for all county member employees (including temporary employees). There are currently 31 counties in the pool. NMAC handles all claims on behalf of the counties, and works closely with counties by providing extensive safety training.

Multi-Line Pool
The Multi-Line Pool provides extensive property and liability coverage for member counties. Coverage is offered for property, general liability, public officials’ errors and omissions liability, employee benefits liability, crime, automobile liability, cyber liability, and equipment breakdown. Supplementary coverage is also provided for land use and pollution. Currently, this pool provides coverage for 29 member counties.

Law Enforcement Pool
The Law Enforcement Pool provides coverage for law enforcement activities, which includes sheriff departments and detention centers. Currently, the pool provides coverage for 29 member counties, which includes 22 adult detention centers and 8 juvenile detention centers. NMAC has established accreditation programs for both sheriff departments and detention centers to help foster professionalism and best practices in these county departments.


© 2016 New Mexico Association of Counties ~ 444 Galisteo St, Santa Fe, NM 87501 ~ Phone: 505-983-2101 ~ Toll Free: 877-983-2101
Feedback or problems with this site? please email
Back to top