Colfax County

Colfax County was originally part of Taos County, one of the original nine counties created by the New Mexico Territory in 1852.In 1859, the eastern part of Taos County was split off to form Mora County.  

Colfax County was established in 1869 from the northern part of Mora County and the original county seat was the gold mining town of Elizabethtown. By 1872, the county seat was moved to Cimarron, which was on the stagecoach route along the Mountain Branch of the Santa Fe Trail. The county courthouse in Cimarron is a contributing structure in the historic district and is still in use as a Masonic lodge.

In 1881, the county seat moved from Cimarron to Springer, which is closer to the railroad. The Colfax County Courthouse in Springer was the site of one of the last important shoot-outs in the Colfax County War. Once again, after referendum and a bitter legislative fight, the county seat moved from Springer to Raton in 1897, which was an important coal-mining town and a railroad center. Colfax County has a population of approximately 12,253 and encompasses an area of 3,768 square miles. A large portion of the county lies in the Sangre de Cristo Mountains. The county contains numerous state parks, ski resorts, national forests, scenic vistas, and outdoor recreational activities.

Upcoming Events

16 Hour Verbal De-Escalation @ Bernalillo County, Albuquerque, NM (Public Safety Psychology Group)
Mar 1 @ 8:00 am – Mar 2 @ 5:00 pm


This 16-hour training teaches students verbal de-escalation skills that apply psychology to aid a highly agitated person in bringing their emotions under control. This training is intended for Detention Staff and Sheriff’s Deputies. 16 Hr De-Escalation Albuq (PDF)

Course is free to NMC Law Enforcement Insurance Pool Members.  Non-members may inquire about attending (based on availability) for a fee.

Instructor Development (Train the Trainer) @ Chaves County, Roswell, NM
Mar 27 @ 8:00 am – Mar 31 @ 12:00 pm


This weeklong class will give you the foundation to become a professional and dynamic instructor.  You will learn the principles of learning and teaching, and the qualities of a good instructor.  In addition, we will go over the importance of visual aids and brush up on your PowerPoint skills.  You will also learn how to develop your own curriculum and how to get accredited.  This is a great class with a high energy instructor.  The week will fly by, and you will be eligible to obtain your state certification.

Important: The class will be limited in space.  Please register as soon as possible due to limited space.

Course is free to NMC Law Enforcement Insurance Pool members.  Non-members may inquire about attending (pending availability) for a fee.

Employment Opportunities

 Colfax County is an Equal Opportunity Employer.