Otero County

Otero County was the nineteenth of the thirty-three counties to be created. Established in 1899, the county was created from parts of Doña Ana, Lincoln, and Socorro Counties. 

It was named for Miguel Antonio Otero, territorial governor at the time of its creation.  At 6,627 square miles, it is the third largest county in New Mexico and thirty-fifth largest in the United States.  Only 10% of the land area is privately owned; the Federal government, the Mescalero Apache Tribe, and the State Land Office own the rest of the land. 

Two of the U.S. Army’s largest bases, Fort Bliss and the White Sands Missile Range, are located here.  Because of the Army’s work with rocketry here, the New Mexico Space Museum is located in the county seat of Alamogordo. In 1933, President Hoover created the White Sands National Monument, west of Alamogordo, to protect the gypsum sand dunes.  The southernmost ski area in the United States is at Cloudcroft.  Notable citizens of Otero County include astronomer Alan Hale; U.S. Senator Albert Fall; Governor Edwin Mechem, physicist Edward Condon, and actress Kim Stanley.

Upcoming Events

16 Hour Verbal De-Escalation @ Bernalillo County, Albuquerque, NM (Public Safety Psychology Group)
Mar 1 @ 8:00 am – Mar 2 @ 5:00 pm


This 16-hour training teaches students verbal de-escalation skills that apply psychology to aid a highly agitated person in bringing their emotions under control. This training is intended for Detention Staff and Sheriff’s Deputies. 16 Hr De-Escalation Albuq (PDF)

Course is free to NMC Law Enforcement Insurance Pool Members.  Non-members may inquire about attending (based on availability) for a fee.

Instructor Development (Train the Trainer) @ Chaves County, Roswell, NM
Mar 27 @ 8:00 am – Mar 31 @ 12:00 pm


This weeklong class will give you the foundation to become a professional and dynamic instructor.  You will learn the principles of learning and teaching, and the qualities of a good instructor.  In addition, we will go over the importance of visual aids and brush up on your PowerPoint skills.  You will also learn how to develop your own curriculum and how to get accredited.  This is a great class with a high energy instructor.  The week will fly by, and you will be eligible to obtain your state certification.

Important: The class will be limited in space.  Please register as soon as possible due to limited space.

Course is free to NMC Law Enforcement Insurance Pool members.  Non-members may inquire about attending (pending availability) for a fee.

Employment Opportunities