Quay County

Quay County (pronounced “kway”) is a county located in Eastern New Mexico.  As of the 2000 census, the population is 10,115. 

The county seat is Tucumcari.  Quay County was named for Pennsylvania Senator Matthew Quay, who supported New Mexico statehood. Quay County was founded on February 28, 1903, consists of 2,882 square miles and 7 square miles of water. With a population of 9,401 (Census 2010), the largest city is Tucumcari but other villages & communities include: House, Logan, San Jon, Forrest, Glenrio, McAlister, Nara Visa, Quay, and Wheatland.

Upcoming Events

16 Hour Verbal De-Escalation @ Taos, NM
Sep 13 @ 8:00 am – Sep 14 @ 5:00 pm


This 16-hour training teaches students verbal de-escalation skills that apply psychology to aid a highly agitated person in bringing their emotions under control. This training is intended for Detention Staff and Sheriff’s Deputies. 16 Hr De-Escalation Albuq (PDF)

Employment Opportunities