Roosevelt County

Roosevelt County was created in 1903 from Chaves and Guadalupe counties and named for President Theodore Roosevelt.

The county’s eastern border is the Texas state line. The county seat is in the most populous city of Portales. The county population is approximately 19,082 covering a total area of 2,455 square miles. There are 106 ghost towns in the county, and was once home to the largest windmill collection in the nation.

Roosevelt County is known for a steady growth in agriculture with peanuts, sweet potatoes, cotton, feed grains, and wheat crops. In recent years, larger dairies have located in the county and support several major dairy product industries in the area. Eastern New Mexico Junior College was established in 1934.

Upcoming Events

16 Hour Verbal De-Escalation @ Bernalillo County, Albuquerque, NM (Public Safety Psychology Group)
Mar 1 @ 8:00 am – Mar 2 @ 5:00 pm


This 16-hour training teaches students verbal de-escalation skills that apply psychology to aid a highly agitated person in bringing their emotions under control. This training is intended for Detention Staff and Sheriff’s Deputies. 16 Hr De-Escalation Albuq (PDF)

Course is free to NMC Law Enforcement Insurance Pool Members.  Non-members may inquire about attending (based on availability) for a fee.

Instructor Development (Train the Trainer) @ Chaves County, Roswell, NM
Mar 27 @ 8:00 am – Mar 31 @ 12:00 pm


This weeklong class will give you the foundation to become a professional and dynamic instructor.  You will learn the principles of learning and teaching, and the qualities of a good instructor.  In addition, we will go over the importance of visual aids and brush up on your PowerPoint skills.  You will also learn how to develop your own curriculum and how to get accredited.  This is a great class with a high energy instructor.  The week will fly by, and you will be eligible to obtain your state certification.

Important: The class will be limited in space.  Please register as soon as possible due to limited space.

Course is free to NMC Law Enforcement Insurance Pool members.  Non-members may inquire about attending (pending availability) for a fee.

Employment Opportunities