San Juan County

San Juan County is located in the northwest corner of New Mexico, bordering Arizona, Colorado, and Utah. San Juan County is comprised of 5500 square miles (less than 6% privately owned) located in the beautiful “Four Corners” area in the U.S.; the population in 2020 was estimated at 121,661.

The vast Navajo Nation lies adjacent to the county, as does the Jicarilla Indian Reservation. The locale is recognized worldwide for premier big game hunting and for abundant fishing, particularly in the quality waters of the three rivers (Animas, La Plata, & San Juan River), which flow through the area. Numerous outdoor activities, including camping, boating, water skiing & wind surfing, golf, live horse racing, hiking & mountain biking and extensive trails for jeep & OHV exploring may be enjoyed year-round.

If golf is your game, Riverview golf course located off US Hwy 64, 7 miles west of La Plata Highway. This course is open year-round and is a challenging high desert layout; it certainly is San Juan County’s Finest! In addition to these activities, San Juan County has many other points of interest such as Ancestral ruins, including Chaco Canyon National Park, the Aztec Ruins, and Salmon Ruins.

Farmington, the largest city in the County, provides a shopping hub for the area that covers a 150-mile radius and includes the smaller towns of Aztec, Bloomfield, Kirtland, and Shiprock, New Mexico.

As San Juan County continues to grow and prosper, the County Commission and elected officials, with the help of dedicated support staff, are committed to keeping a friendly small-town atmosphere while providing business and citizens with the best in services, public safety and family values.

Upcoming Events

16 Hour Verbal De-Escalation @ Roosevelt County, Portales, NM
Oct 11 @ 8:00 am – Oct 12 @ 5:00 pm


This 16-hour training teaches students verbal de-escalation skills that apply psychology to aid a highly agitated person in bringing their emotions under control. This training is intended for Detention Staff and Sheriff’s Deputies. 16 Hr De-Escalation (PDF)

Course is free to NMC Law Enforcement Insurance Pool Members.  Non-members can inquire about attending (pending availability) for a fee.

CIT – 40 hour Crisis Intervention Training @ Bernaillo County, Albuquerque, NM
Nov 13 @ 8:00 am – Nov 17 @ 5:00 pm


This 40-hour training provides verbal de-escalation, crisis intervention, and mental health awareness training. This training is intended for Sheriff Deputies, Detention Staff, Firefighter and Emergency Medical First Responders.

Course is free to NMC Law Enforcement Pool members.  Non-pool members may inquire about attending (based on availability) for a fee.